NewsBreak: U.S. Stocks Struggle to Earn Gains

  • Investing.com
  • Stock Market News
NewsBreak: U.S. Stocks Struggle to  Earn Gains
Credit: © Reuters.

Investing.com – Stocks were climbing back from early losses Thursday, a day before the Labor Department's monthly report on payroll employment and unemployment.

  • The S&P 500 and the Dow were up very slightly at 2:10 p.m. ET (19:10 GMT). The Nasdaq Composite was down a bit while the Nasdaq 100 index was showing a small gain. The Dow had been down as many as 87 points early in the day after gaining 147 points on Wednesday.

  • Materials, financials and techs were the strongest sectors, with consumer staples and energy the weakest. JPMorgan Chase (NYSE: JPM ), Campbell Soup (NYSE: CPB ) and RH (NYSE: RH ), formerly Restoration Hardware, were among stocks hitting new 52-week highs.
  • Helping the market along was a bullish Labor Department report on initial jobless claims , which fell to a seven-month low.
    • The Labor Department's job report will come out at 8:30 AM ET (13:30 GMT). Analysts tracked by Investing.com expect the report to show the economy added 186,000 jobs in November, up from 128,000 jobs in October and 155,00 jobs in November 2018. The unemployment rate is projected to hold steady at 3.6%, unchanged from October and down slightly from December 2018.

    Drop an image here or Supported formats: *.jpg, *.png, *.gif up to 5mb

    Error: File type not supported

    Drop an image here or

    100